selfiecamera_2017-02-23-19-06-19-7341

Vinyl Queen and Mistress Simone

My last post discussed the “alternative facts” that are often bandied about when Pro Dommes discuss just about anything in their business in the public realm. Travel is one of them. In the spirit of transparency, I’m going to write about when things don’t necessarily go as planned while visiting a new city. But first, some background…

I upped my travel itinerary a few years ago when it became apparent that the end of the road was nigh for my studio. I wanted to lay the groundwork for visiting more cities so that once I closed the doors, my travel schedule would pick up the local slack. I had a feeling there would be obstacles to working once I was renting from someone else. I chose destinations based on travel requests from the past, and feedback from other Pro Dommes who had visited these places as well. I did my due diligence and my choices paid off. Since the past two years have seen such success in other states, I think I let the vision of own popularity cloud the reality of future travel. I didn’t do as much research, and the numbers reflected it.

My first experimental city was St. Louis, Missouri. I consider Mistress Simone to be a good friend. She has studios in Chicago and St. Louis. During my visit to her in September 2016, I discussed with her the option of visiting St. Louis. It appeared that there wasn’t a lot of competition in the area–and that seemed like a good recipe for a future visit. It never occurred to me that maybe the reason why there isn’t a gaggle of Pro Dommes somewhere is due to a lack of business. Silly huh? Did I bother to discuss with any of my peers what their travel experiences were like to this area? No. I was going to do this “all on my own” and it would be GREAT. Well, it wasn’t particularly great. It was good, but it wasn’t like going to Chicago or NYC…

Mistress Simone was the consummate hostess. I couldn’t have asked for a more welcoming experience to a city I had never visited. She shared her home and slaves with me. We were able to discuss many topics regarding business growth and reach. Unfortunately, the rest of St. Louis wasn’t as amazing. For the first time, I learned about the function that Backpage provided when visiting a city. I have been spoiled in that my fan base is large and they usually check my website for my travel dates. I don’t NEED to do a lot of advertising because “they know” when I’ll be there and book well in advance. St. Louis is not that type of town. Don’t get me wrong. My fans DID show up, but not enough. I guess Erosguide is only SO good. I don’t think many men know about it anymore since they learned to rely on Backpage.

Another error of my trip planning was not bundling in a weekend day. This was not necessarily my fault as Mistress Simone and I had to cobble together dates in between her own super busy travel schedule. There are two segments of the population who see Pro Dommes: those available on weekdays and those available on weekends. They occupy separate demographics and I effectively eliminated one. Not smart.

Will I return to St. Louis? Probably. I will do things differently next time though. If the next trip isn’t that successful, then I’ll know that I gave it my best shot but I need to go elsewhere.

Onto my Phoenix trip…

IMG_20170302_170127_554

Mistress Sadie Hawkins and Vinyl Queen

I will be the first to admit that I should have advertised differently for Phoenix. Male creatures are easily confused and I balked at having concurrent St. Louis and Phoenix Eros Ads in place. It turns out that was what I SHOULD have done. Mistress Sadie Hawkins taught me that placement in multiple cities is a great idea. Who knew? While I was visiting her, she received contact from all over the country. I took note and made sure that I will advertise for at least two weeks before EVERY trip.

I also had the notion that the bevy of men in the area for Spring Training would make a large number of potential clients available. I know. Now that I think about it, it was a pretty silly idea. Don’t get between a man and his sports allegiances. I was clouded by the past experiences of clients who have WORKED for sports teams, versus fans. If you’re in town to see your beloved team, are you REALLY going to skip out on a game or the afterparty to get your kink itch scratched? Not likely.

I didn’t expect locals to plan ahead and I was prepared for same day availability. What I wasn’t prepared for was the lack of more modern booking requests. Email wasn’t favored and voicemails weren’t left. It was back to the old-school experience of the little boy hanging up as soon as the call wasn’t answered on my end. I understand discretion but it was disappointing.

So where were all the VQ fans? Turns out they showed up at the CFNM party! Mistress Sadie Hawkins threw an amazing event. Due in no small part to her intelligent vetting, each and every guest was an enjoyable person to have in attendance. As a host of my own parties, I know this is no small feat! There is usually “that guy” who isn’t very social and participatory. This simply didn’t happen at her event. Each and every male was engaged, interactive, and VERY well-behaved. I had a fan of my Youtube channel show up, and others knew of me through my content or past exploits. I have to say it was mentally intoxicating to have a group of naked men just standing there, waiting at our beck and call!

Again, a trip isn’t always measured by its financial success. The knowledge that Mistress Sadie and I exchanged regarding our Professional and Lifestyle experiences was priceless. I learned so much from how she handles her business. She was able to educate me to some very modern techniques and methods that I had not heard of, or seen put into practice.

I know that I have a long list of NOs when it comes to my interests, and maybe that didn’t jibe with what Phoenix wants. Will I return? Yes, I’ll give it another shot, but my intent will be to attend another CFNM party. Sessions will not be the focus and I will treat my visit as a mini-vacation.

There you have it. It’s not always sunshine and roses for Pro Dommes. It would be great if we really had First Class Tickets to every destination on someone else’s dime, and five star accommodations for each and every visit. I probably didn’t make any friends with this current view “behind the curtain,” but once again–friends don’t pay my bills. I do.

