9/11 Then and Now

October, 2001

Being from the West Coast, I don’t have the same type of stories as those who lived and worked near to Ground Zero on 9/11. I do have “a 9/11” story, and it’s time to commit it to text. I’ve told it many times and I THOUGHT I had blogged about it, but I guess I was incorrect…

I made my first trip to New York City to work as a Pro Domme back in 2000. Times were certainly different back then! It wasn’t like I could just find a Mistress on social media who advertised a rental space, and set things up for a visit. Nope. There was this thing called vetting. Yes, I’m going to be making a lot of “back in my day” references in this post. Get used to it. I had to research NYC Dominas in DDI (yes, there used to be these things called magazines where we had to place print ads–IMAGINE THAT!). There was a budding website that featured a Domme Directory (maxfisch), but it was still very new. I ended up contacting Mistress Avalon and supplicating myself to her. We used to have to show deference to our Domme Elders. I had to prove to her that I was a valid Domina and that I had a skill set. She didn’t really care about my silly website. She wanted verification that I was a card-carrying member of the DDI Advertisers Club. What I mean by this it was an indication that I understood how to place a print ad in the publication. I think she might have even asked if I had been in more than one edition (they were published quarterly). It was a measure of validation. I totally understand her point of view now. At the time it was frustrating.

My first trip was quite successful and I decided that even though L’Oeil Cache was magnificently equipped, I didn’t want to bow to Mistress Avalon anymore. I sought out a different rental experience.

I ended up negotiating with Mistress Nadine to use her space for my October 2001 visit. She was very down to earth and didn’t treat me like an underling. I booked my airfare and hotel and thought that everything was set. Then it wasn’t.

The morning of 9/11 I found out about the first tower being hit via the radio. The alarm had gone off and that’s how I heard the news. Of course I ran to the television and turned it on to see exactly what was going on. The second tower collapsing is what I saw. If you weren’t alive then, it was something unforgettable to see the massive loss of life on your tv screen. There was nothing you could do but watch in horror.

Like I mentioned at the beginning, I lived in California in the SF Bay Area. I didn’t have any connections to people who lived or worked in Manhattan. I did what everyone else in my area did for the next few days: I listened to the news, read newspapers and generally felt numb about the whole situation.

As time passed, I started to think about my trip that was booked for the latter portion of October. Should I cancel it? COULD I still go? Eventually I made the decision that I would still travel and that this would be important “some day.” Boy was I correct!

Mistress Nadine was very cool about the entire situation. Her space was in Soho and still accessible. We agreed that we should do “something” while I was there to try to aid in the general situation of the 9/11 aftermath. I didn’t know what this was until I arrived though.

She told me that we’d donate a portion of the proceeds of our sessions during my stay to the local firehouse that was in her neighborhood. She knew people there and they were aware of what she did as a Domina. We would present them with a check and commemorate the occasion with a photo-op.

Vinyl Queen and Mistress Nadine donate a check to a local firehouse after 9/11.
Baby VQ and Mistress Nadine at the firehouse

Not gonna lie, my entire trip was surreal: From my airport experience, to 5th Avenue being entirely empty at night. It was bizarre to visit such a teeming metropolis and see very few people out and about. I stayed at the Hilton in Mid-town. A large number of First Responders were staying there as well.

My sessions went well. I had very few cancellations. Clients wanted a distraction and I did as well! I utilized the proximity to Ground Zero to walk to Lower Manhattan to attempt to see what I could see. So happy I had my camera with me. I will never forget “the smell.” It made the acrid wildfire smoke I have grown used to almost seem pleasant.

Now I find myself returning to New York City, twenty years later. We are in another disaster of sorts, and divided unlike I ever thought we could be. Fortunately, kink unites me and my clients with an unwavering desire to experience our form of reality. The need to submit to the will of a power Domina will never die. I am thankful for this constant in my life.

It will be good to return to New York City after almost a two year absence. I am grateful for colleagues such as Mistress Ariana Chevalier and Mistress Chloe. Now “we” are the ones who are the Domme Elders. Thank you two for providing me a home away from home for so many years now!

One thought on “9/11 Then and Now

  1. As usual, you paint a word picture (portrait actually) so crystal clear it brings tears to my eyes. Thank you VQ, May none of us ever forget that day and the raw emotions that accompanied every minute. I am honored to know you.

Leave a comment